Posted by: budpaul | December 29, 2009

Did another kicker kill a team?

Well, as expected, Adrian Peterson made a game of AFA Bowl 12, it’s just that the BullGators’ lack of a kicker really hurt them.  With the final score being 141-126 the ‘Gators would have needed an excellent day from the position but it certainly wouldn’t have been outside the realm of possibility.  Of course, with the benefit of hindsight, or at least by checking the stats, we can see that no free agent kicker scored more than 12 points (Janikowski and Phil Dawson both had 12).  The top available kicker, Jay Feely, managed only 8 points.

So, with all this in mind, it’s safe to say that Tom simply had the better team and there were simply no moves that the ‘Gators could have made (they also didn’t leave much of anything on the bench) to defeat Tom.

Responses

  1. Congrats to Tom. I’m glad that the kicker didn’t make or break this game. I would have been really pissed if the losing margin had been 5 or 6 points. Truthfully, I blame Aaron Rogers’ poor showing for this loss. He only scored 15 points for me and had been projected to score 30. That ended up being the real difference.

    • I agree with that one – Rodgers really screwed the pooch at crunch time.

      And I also found it ironic that Cutler was consistently a disappointment for me on my fantasy team but he came through big last night when I needed him to for the Saints.

  2. What no love for my 3rd place finish with arguably the second best team – again???

    Dang it.

  3. Scratch that. Just noticed I would have lost by a point to the Gaytors. Then again, I didn’t even change my lineup this week or even follow the score. If I was in the title game, I doubt I would have started Maroney.


Leave a Reply

Categories

